State Law SB-1186
On September 19, 2012, Governor Brown signed into law SB-1186, which adds a state fee of $1 on every application or renewal of a business certificate (or equivalent instrument). This new law is effective January 1, 2013 through December 31, 2017. From January 1, 2018 through December 31, 2023, a fee of $4 will be added to every application or renewal of a business certificate (or equivalent instrument). This law requires all cities and counties within California to collect the $4 state fee.
The City of Poway's initial Business Certificate fee, Renewal fee, and Regulatory License fee (or equivalent instruments) now includes the state fee. You may have received a Business Certificate renewal letter in December 2017 that indicated a renewal fee of $21. The $4 state fee is now required to be added on to all payments received after January 1, 2018. The city's website renewal form has been updated to reflect the total renewal amount of $24.
The bill primarily amends the procedures related to construction-related accessibility claims, and in some instances, reduces statutory penalties. The bill also provides for the development of educational resources for businesses in order to facilitate compliance with federal and state disability laws.
Compliance with Disability Access
Under federal and state law, compliance with disability access laws is a serious and significant responsibility that applies to all California building owners and tenants with buildings open to the public. You may obtain information about your legal obligations and how to comply with disability access laws at the following agencies:
- California Commission on Disability Access
- Department of Rehabilitation
- Division of the State Architect
You can obtain a copy of the SB-1186 from the California Legislative Information website.